What is the difference between changing a tool's settings in the Tool Database and Editing a tool in the Toolpath setup?

When you change a tool's setting in the Tool Database, it changes the default settings for that tool and these are the settings that would appear the next time that tool is selected for a toolpath.

After selecting a tool for a toolpath, you have the option to Edit that tool and make changes to the default settings that will apply only to that toolpath.